#71 Nana del Viento by Belinda Laumbach

Sopla el viento
Juega con mi pelo
como un niño.

Llego a casa.

Mamá me Saluda
con cariño.

Entra el viento
conmigo por la
puerta abierta.

Ella llama a mi padre, diciéndole,
“Mira, Martín, llegó la
nana del viento.”

Mother of the Wind

The wind blows.

It plays with my hair
like a child.

I go home.

Mother greets me
with love.

The wind enters
with me through
the open door.

Mother calls to father,
“Look, Martin, the mother
of the wind has arrived.”

Belinda Pacheco Laumbach was raised on a ranch in New Mexico.  One of her poems was included in a publication as a result of a competition for Hispanic Women Writers of New Mexico.  Although bilingual, her poetry “comes out” only in Spanish and only around themes related to the environment.


7 thoughts on “#71 Nana del Viento by Belinda Laumbach

  1. Belinda, I liked the poem. It reminds when I was young and visited Grandpa and Grandm Pacheco at the ranch

  2. Loved the brevity and simplicity. I felt like I was there. Almost a Haiku, which I have written quite a lot. It reminded me of the breeze which i enjoyed today as I walked along the Pacific at Ocean Beach in San Francisco. Thanks, Belinda, for bringing a tad of joy into my life.

  3. Lovely poem. I got whiff of a the pine-scented Trujillo breeze and the warm embrace of family reading it here in my Manhattan apartment, where one of Grandpa Pacheco’s gardening tools lies near my desk. Love to your family. Congratulations, Belinda.

  4. Still enjoying it, Belinda. Love how your few words can paint such a large and beautiful picture and connect past memories to the present.

Leave a Reply

